Hiroshima Prefecture

Prefectural capital:Hiroshima City
There are two World Heritage sites in Hiroshima Prefecture. The first is Itsukushima Shrine which had been worshipped by Heike (Taira clan) in the late Heian period. Leader of the Heike, Taira no Kiyomori had renovated Itsukushima Shrine to today’s scale. The dramatic gate or torii of Itsukushima Shrine is one of Japan’s most popular tourist attractions. The torii appears to be floating only at high tide. This beautiful view is classified as one of the Three Views of Japan (along with the sand bar Amanohashidate, and Matsushima Bay).

The second World Heritage site is Hiroshima Peace Memorial commonly called the Atomic Bomb Dome. The ruin serves as a memorial to the people who were killed in the atomic bombing of Hiroshima by the United States Army Air Forces on 6 August 1945. This is part of the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park. Many people which pray for world peace have visited this park.

See also
*The Three Views of Japan --- the sand bar Amanohashidate, Matsushima Bay and Itsukushima Shrine
*Prefectures of Japan

0 件のコメント: